

April 1, 2014

The Honorable Kevin Mullin California State Assembly P.O. Box 942849 Sacramento, CA 94249

RE: AB 2170 Joint Powers Authorities: Common Powers – SUPPORT

Dear Assemblymember Mullin:

On behalf of SPUR, I am writing to express our support for Assembly Bill 2170. SPUR is a member-supported nonprofit organization that promotes good planning and good government in the Bay Area through research, education and advocacy.

AB 2170 is declaratory of existing law and makes clear that Joint Powers Authorities (JPAs) may exercise any power common to the contracting parties, including but not limited to the authority to levy a fee or tax. This clarification of existing authority is critical to ensure that JPAs may increase revenue for important community projects while remaining subject to all voter approval requirements provided under Proposition 218.

Thank you for authoring this bill and for your ongoing efforts to ensure that we create and sustain a high quality of life for all residents of the San Francisco Bay Area.

Sincerely,

Kristy Wang Community Planning Policy Director SPUR

SPUR

654 Mission Street San Francisco, CA 94105 (415) 781-8726 info@spur.org SPUR SAN JOSE 76 South First Street San Jose, CA 95113 (408) 638-0083 infosj@spur.org CHAIR Anne Halsted

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Gabriel Metcalf

URBAN CENTER DIRECTOR Diane Filippi

EXECUTIVE VICE CHAIR David Friedman

VICE CHAIRS Alexa Arena Andy Barnes Emilio Cruz Bill Rosetti Lydia Tan V. Fei Tsen

SECRETARY Mary McCue

TREASURER Bob Gamble

IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR Linda Jo Fitz

ADVISORY COUNCIL CO-CHAIRS Michael Alexander Paul Sedway

BOARD MEMBERS Carl Anthony Andy Barnes Veronica Bell Chris Block Larry Burnett Michaela Cassidy Michael Cohen Madeline Chun Charmaine Curtis Gia Daniller-Katz Kelly Dearman Oz Erickson Manny Flores Gillian Gillett Chris Gruwell Dave Hartley Aidan Hughes Mary Huss Chris Iglesias Laurie Johnson Ken Kirkey Richard Lonergan Ellen Lou Janis MacKenzie John Madden Gordon Mar Jacinta McCann Chris Meany Ezra Mersey Terry Micheau Mary Murphy Jeanne Myerson Adhi Nagraj Brad Paul Chris Poland Teresa Rea Byron Rhett Victor Seeto Elizabeth Seifel Carl Shannon Chi-Hsin Shao Ontario Smith Bill Stotler Stuart Sunshine Michael Theriault Michael Teitz James Tracy Will Travis Jeff Tumlin Steve Vettel Debra Walker Cynthia Wilusz-Lovell Cindy Wu